My profile just before deletion

To quote my dear friend Sebastian, you're not firing me Google, I quit!

The backstory

So I was sent a link to Google+ this afternoon, which necessitated me blowing the cobwebs off my Google credentials and logging in for the first time in months.

Turns out Google suspended my Google+ account, on the following basis:

Your profile has been suspended.

After reviewing your profile, we have determined that the name provided violates the Google+ Names Policy.

While suspended, you will not be able to make full use of Google services that require an active profile, such as Google+, Reader and Picasa. This will not prevent you from using other Google services, like Gmail.

If you have changed your name in accordance with our policies, please submit an appeal and we will review your profile again.

If you believe that your profile has been suspended in error, please submit your profile for reconsideration.

Your profile will be reviewed again and re-enabled if it complies with the Google+ Names Policy. Reviews are usually completed within a few days.

We’re sorry for the inconvenience.

We understand that Google+ and its Names Policy may not be for everyone at this time. We’d be sad to see you go, but if you do choose to leave, make a copy of your Google+ data first. Then, click here to disable Google+.

Come again?

I had my name set as Ruben Schade, esq. While a little tongue in cheek, the name itself could be verified from any number of links I had to my own domains and profiles on other websites. The "esq" portion is a honourific which can be legally used by any individual in Australia and Singapore. For all intents and purposes, this is my name.

In any event, I have neither the time nor inclination to fight with Google bureaucracy. I've deleted my Google+ profile, and the page. If this is how they're going to treat their users, I don't want anything to do with their (albeit failing) site.

You've successfully deleted Google+ and associated social content

So, I deleted it!

From the deletion page:

You’ve successfully deleted Google+ and associated social content

We’re sorry to see you leave! Please help us improve by telling us why you are leaving and what we can do better. This survey is optional but your feedback is much appreciated.

Under "Please tell us why you're leaving", I left this:

The lack of time and inclination to fight Google bureaucracy, your heavy-handed and knee-jerk suspension of accounts with legitimate names including mine, ever increasing concerns over the privacy of my data with Google, my replacement of this and other Google services with better alternatives, lack of use of Google+, and finally in preparation to delete my Google profile entirely.

With my move away from Gmail, Google Code, Google Reader and their other services, this means I'll no longer be logging into Google at all anymore. Once I'm sure everyone knows my new hosted email address, I'll be deleting my Google account that I started in 2003.

As for Google+, I suppose my deletion won't count for much given I barely used it anyway. To answer myself from July 2011, not me.